Monday, 6 August 2012


EBA committee nominates Sojor in International Award

By Francis Ivan G. Ho

The Europe Assembly Nomination (EBA) committee based in Oxford, United Kingdom nominated Negros Oriental State University (NORSU) President Henry A. Sojor to the International Socrates Prize in the Science Sphere (ISPSS).

According to EBA Director John W.A. Netting in an e-mail, Sojor has been nominated in the ISPSS because he qualified the requirements for international ‘contemporary’ leadership.

“We are happy to inform that your high authority and immaculate reputation, active civic position and fruitful professional activities, personal contribution to the national science and integration processes got high recognition of the international community,” Netting stated.

The director continued, “Your establishment [NORSU] was chosen as one of the best representatives of national education. The best graduates of your university are well known for their high level of knowledge and professional skills both in your country and abroad.”

Dr. Henry A. Sojor supposed that he is nominated because he has been invited into international fora and symposia as key speaker and research person. “In my own point of view, I am nominated because I am responsible in making this [NORSU] into a state university, giving quality education for poor but deserving students, and besides, their [EBA] research institutions are the ones responsible in investigating public opinions to discover leaders,”he said.

In addition, the president said that he will not attend the awarding ceremony because he cannot afford to be there.

The distinction is designed to honor the best personalities in the field of higher and secondary education, fundamental and applied researches, science and culture. It also symbolizes the highest degree of professional achievements, recognitions and services for common values enriching. The awarding ceremony and euro science open forum will be in Dublin, Ireland on July 1-15.

Meanwhile, EBA research teams are the ones responsible in examining likely individuals prospected to be leaders. Those who have excelled and have prolifically made contributions to the national science and positive social processes are the ones chosen and nominated.

No comments:

Post a Comment